Sarah Hoffman reviews Operation Marriage. Win The Girls Club or Operation Marriage!

I am thrilled to introduce Sarah Hoffman the author the popular site Sarah Hoffman – On parenting a boy who is different. Sarah is a fabulous writer.  I am honored that we are trading posts today – please check out her blog http://www.sarahhoffmanwriter.com  read my piece, and leave a comment for a chance to win a copy of Operation Marriage.

And leave a comment on my blog for a chance to win a copy of The Girls Club.

Sarah is a writer, an activist, and the mother of a nine-year-old gender-nonconforming boy and a six-year-old super-duper gender-conforming girl. She feels passionately that kids–and grownups!–should be able to be who they are without fear.

Celebrate the Launch of Operation Marriage! Book Review & Giveaway

by shoffman

I’m so excited to share this book with you.

Operation Marriage tells the story of a spunky eight-year-old San Franciscan, Alex, whose best friend shuns Alex because she has lesbian parents. Set during the lead-up to California’s Proposition 8, the ballot measure that ultimately banned same-sex marriage, the story shows the impact that the struggle for marriage equality has on children—not just those from gay families, but on all children who witness the fight.

Based on a true story, Operation Marriage offers us universal themes— trust, perseverance, standing up to adversity—but its approach to the particular social challenge of marriage inequality is something I haven’t ever seen in a children’s book. There is power in viewing a problem from a child’s perspective, and much that we grown-ups can learn from looking at the world through Alex’s eyes.

Alex’s parents got married in the slim window that our state allowed them to; others since have not been so lucky. And because I know you’re wondering, ultimately Alex’s best friend comes around in support of Alex’s family. But it happens in a way that makes me cry every single time I read it. Yet no matter how lovely I think this book is, aided by Lea Lyon’s gentle, realistic illustrations, what I really hope is that someday this book  will be become part of dusty history, a quaint reminder of how narrow minded our state—our country—used to be.

The super awesome publisher of Operation Marriage is Reach and Teach—you should check out their other titles, too.

The national launch of Operation Marriage is today, November 2. Local supporters can join the author, illustrator, and publishers at the launch party at Kepler’s in Menlo Park.

Wherever you are, please read and share this important book!

link to original post http://www.sarahhoffmanwriter.com/2011/10/celebrate-the-launch-of-operation-marriage-book-review-giveaway/

*** to read another great piece by Sarah check out her piece on Huffington Post  http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sarah-hoffman/keith-ablow-transgender-child_b_1062717.html

Don’t forget to leave a reply for a chance to win a free copy of The Girls Club.  The winner will be announced on Sunday November 6th.

//
// ]]>
About sallybellerose

Author of The Girls Club, Bywater Press, spring 2011 http://amzn.to/apVqj1 writer gardener booklover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Sarah Hoffman reviews Operation Marriage. Win The Girls Club or Operation Marriage!

  1. Barrett says:

    Nice blog exchange and Sarah’s book sounds like a welcome addition to the conversation. (cane and a doily, huh? too bad there were no pictures!)

    • Thanks! – you may win a book – so far lots of hits but few comments. I should post more pics. Am getting a bit more blog-savvy, so perhaps I will. Sarah always has interesting things to say, as do you, Barrett.

  2. Elyse says:

    Thanks for the blog exchange, I love reading Sarah Hoffman and now I am introduced to your blog. Your granddaughter sounds wonderful.

  3. Carol Williford says:

    Just finished The Girls Club. It is of the “could not put it down” variety. A beautifully written story of the humorous and poignat life of Cora Rose.

  4. Marilyn Huffman says:

    I like the idea of exchanging posts on other writers’ blogs. I think it’s called “guest blogging”.
    Sally, you did a great job of giving the readers an insightful window into the challenge this story presents: its sad reality how much the people of our world need to change. Sarah is indeed an important activist and I honor her writing. Now, to you, dear Sally. I finished reading The Girls Club for the 2nd time! Loved it even more this last time. You are an awesome writer! Thanks again for your book and turning us on to Sara Hoffman and -Operation Marriage.

    • Marilyn, thank you for what you said about my writing! I’m honored to appear on Sally’s blog and can’t wait to read The Girl’s Club. And also I’m proud to be sharing Operation Marriage with the world–it’s such an important piece of children’s literature.

  5. Thanks Marilyn. So happy to introduce you to Sarah. And, oh my heart, the 2nd time reading the book – truly an honor – my dear friend

  6. Gabrielle says:

    I’m thrilled Sarah Hoffman introduced me to you! I loved your Grandmothers, Unmarried and in Love essay! Thank you!

  7. Melody Layne says:

    I’m delighted to be introduced to you by Sarah Hoffman. Enjoyed your essay very much. I hold a similar opinion– we should abolish state-sanctioned “marriage.” Anyone should be able to have a civil union, and if couples wish they can get married in the religious tradition of their choice. That said, marriage is important to my partner so we’re thinking about heading to NYC for a ceremony next spring.

    • Hey Melody, Thanks for reading the piece and for joining the conversation. Yes, if my spouse wanted to get married I’d be happy to oblige. Congrats, whatever you decide. Love NYC in the spring.

  8. Thank you for this exchange of blogs, Sally–it was such a pleasure. -SH

  9. Matthew says:

    Sally,
    Thank you for your voice and your stories and for sharing the amazing Sarah Hoffman with more of the world. Another blog you might enjoy is http://www.raisingmyrainbow.com. I look forward to reading The Girls Club. I used several books and various articles and multimedia when I came out to my family to provide them with resources I knew they wouldn’t feel comfortable finding for themselves. However, all of that, I fear, was from my generational point-of-view, and perhaps your novel will provide a voice they might more readily recognize. Thanks!

    • Thanks, Matthew. It is my pelasure to share Sarah Hoffman with as many folks as possible. I am going to check out raisingmyrainbow right now. Knowing you plan to share The Girls Club with your family makes me so happy and is a comment that will keep me writing. ALL best to you and yours. Sally B

Leave a Reply

