Bwaaa…I didn’t win a Lammy, but you can get me shut up about it and take a chance to win a book by leaving a comment on my blog. And here’s a list of Lammy winners.

http://www.lambdaliterary.org/features/06/05/24th-annual-lambda-literary-award-winners-announced-in-new-york/

The Lammys were most exciting. Many of my beloveds traveled from Western MA to be there, including Susan Stinson, Terry Vecchio, and Leslea Newman. We got to hang out with writers we usually only see at conferences.  Lots of glitz and glamour.  And, although the show was a tad long, many of the acceptance speeches were very moving.  Kate Clinton was, as always, funny and timely and right on key.  It was lovely to witness the love-fest between Armistead Maupin and Olivia Dukakis.  Kate Millet, a bona fide mother of free thought remains a tenacious force.  

Walked the Highline, went to the 9/11 Memorial.  Ate a great meal at the over-priced American Grill on (I think) 44th St.  Hint – get a starter – more than enough and half price.  I had the hummus because the menu said “Best hummus you will ever eat” and it was. 

OK back to writing about old ladies in love and young confuse Puerto Rican boys.

Image

About sallybellerose

Author of The Girls Club, Bywater Press, spring 2011 http://amzn.to/apVqj1 writer gardener booklover
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Bwaaa…I didn’t win a Lammy, but you can get me shut up about it and take a chance to win a book by leaving a comment on my blog. And here’s a list of Lammy winners.

  1. maryelizzz says:

    Sorry you didn’t win. It doesn’t mean you didn’t deserve to do so……Remember you are always a winner in the eyes of those who love you…………………

  2. Marguerite Quantaine says:

    Like I said on FB, you’re a winner to all of us. But what I really want to know is if you wore jeans?

  3. Evie Leder says:

    Sally, yes! Just get back to work! And I want to read about old ladies in love and young confused Puerto Rican boys. Haven’t you won a bunch of things this year? It’s like the year of Sally Bellerose. Keep writing and getting those words just right. Hoping I might win a copy of your book. Just cause I’m looking to win something soon. 🙂

  4. Evie Leder says:

    if I were to edit that, I would take the “Just cause” out. 🙂

  5. Evie Leder says:

    Yes, but I don’t soley want to win a copy of your book because I want to win something, but the two desires are matching up quite well.

  6. Robin Barber says:

    I’ll say anything to get something for free.
    no, seriously, no lammy? There’s a whammy in the works.
    New York, on average, was significantly better for having you and your Western Mass good’uns in it for a few hours.

Leave a Reply

